Using gulls as a warning system

An easy trip to work this morning, even if slow when compared to off peak travel. Did the joyless task of reviewing eight policy documents when I first arrived. Part of my responsibility as the DAMHS. One really has almost nothing to do with me or our service as it is about the extremely unlikely situation of our DHB wanting to move a special patient somewhere. All such patients are within the Forensic Psychiatric services, and they are changed to ordinary patients when released from there.

After dealing with a few things on the ward, I joined three of our Leadership Team to attend a workshop on developments in the acute inpatient services. It turned out a little better than I thought it would be. There will always be a need for inpatient care for some as there can be no alternatives for some. But I cannot see how we can sensibly plan the future of acute inpatient units and the care they provide without focussing as much if not more so on alternative options.

After that I did some tasks in town and then returned to Snells Beach, in time to have a jog on the huge expanse of uncovered mud sand and seaweed at Southend of Snells. There I saw two Tuturiwhatu (the New Zealand dotterel). The other one appeared more grey than brown, and without the rufous chest. Although I considered other plovers, they are all rare and also visit NZ during the summer, which it is not at the moment.

My title is based on reflection of the old saying "Birds of a feather flock together", and thinking that this dotterel was in close proximity to a flock of gulls, and one or two skittish and noisy oystercatchers. Perhaps it is chance, but then again it may be that the dotterels have learned that when the bigger birds make a noise and scarper, it's worth doing likewise. Interestingly, this one paid no attention to the rushed departure of the white faced herons (without sound effects).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.