Wet weather activities

That's what we used to do with the guides at summer camp, on a day like today. After a morning in Tesco at Cardigan, followed by an hour browsing the town, we went back to the caravan. Jon had brought one hobby with him...knives! Perfect for wet weather activity!

So after lunch, we went on a walk to source an appropriate piece of timber - in this case willow. A little thinner than we would have liked, but we couldn't really cut down a really big branch. Then we sat for about 3 hours whittling. I challenged Jon to whittle a Welsh love spoon. He has had a lot more practice than me at making spoons, and his is lovely and thin. After dinner he put his to one side and has been reading. But I am addicted, and, although my hands will be cross with me tomorrow, I couldn't put it down. I am really pleased with my spoon so far. Home made welsh souvenirs. We are going to buy a bit of sand paper to finish them. Jon's is on the left, still a bit to do before sanding. Mine I would like to do a bit more to as well, but there is a danger I will whittle it away!

It has rained on and off all day, but we have the awning front open and have been outside all day. Hopefully I will sleep better tonight with all the fresh air. Last night I was awake a lot.

Finally sending Happy 19th Birthday wishes to my Henry, at home with Mollie and Dan, celebrating together. I can't believe that it is 19 years since Henry came into this world. I am so proud of him. Happy Birthday Hen xxx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.