River of Flowers

By doffy

Tuesday: #30DaysWild

Another beautiful sunny day.
Couldn’t believe I had red poppies in the garden where I’d been weeding yesterday - then I saw the Welsh poppy as I went to the greenhouse and the clump of very large poppies in bud in one of the pots that I grew garlic in, they’re almost in flower!
Also behind the greenhouse is a very large pot of ox-eye daisies, one of the best summer wild flowers :-))
The purple berries of Mahonia are still going strong, think the blackbirds have been eating them since early April. There was a very young blackbird teaching himself how to eat the berries, lots of trial and error, leaves are very prickly and slippery, the berries are on long stems underneath the leaves, requires lots of careful manoeuvring, there was a lot of screeching - I was very close by trying to eat my lunch!!
MrD went onto the mainland for a swimming lesson and enjoyed being able to re-start his lessons.
Edibles from the garden: spring onions (shallots), salad leaves and “cabbage” (possibly Thousand Headed Kale).
Stay safe & healthy & happy everyone :-)
Nos da pawb / goodnight all xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.