JeanSnaps

By JeanSnaps

Salmon at Newburgh.

Well, the lovely sunny wall to wall day didn't materialise.  The morning had a bit of a haar, not enough to be interesting, and the evening was just plain dull.  A sunny afternoon so I worked in the garden.  Pleased with myself as I felt so lackadaisical when I got up I thought nothing would get done but I ticked everything off my list.
Went up to Newburgh in the hope that the Tay might be misty but it wasn't so I resorted to their salmon sculpture.  Net fishing on the Tay started several hundred years ago and, by the mid 1700s, had become a huge business, with exports to several countries. Trade blossomed further when ice (stored in ice houses) was used to preserve the fish while in transit abroad.
The Tay Salmon Fisheries Company was established in 1899 and it became one of the biggest such operations in the country. Net fishing was a major industry in the area until the 1980s when salmon numbers in the river began to decline. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.