Marionb

By Marionb

Not Quite A Sunset

...but it was better than I expected. The day started out rainy.. I took a lot of dreary, rainy-morning photos of the back bay so I would at least have something to post, but I was hoping for something more cheerful to turn up later. Alas..except for a short burst of sunshine allowing for a quick swim, the day just did not perk up visually. 

Tonight, I sat out in the porch, ever hopeful, keeping an eye out for any hint of a bright sky, and that's what I got - a mere hint of a bright sky, but it was still quite beautiful and made for a much more uplifting photo than the ones I took this morning. Success at last!

Earlier though, around dinner time, another blip-op had shown up unexpectedly. Our little chipmunks are quite tame and friendly and are used to being given peanut treats by hand. We keep a handful on the window sill by the front door so they are handy when a "chippy" comes calling. Well, the little fellows are no dummies and they know where those peanuts are. Tonight, one of the little guys was fed up waiting for me to take notice of him  and came begging at the window for the peanuts he could see inside. He stood up on his hind legs, he climbed the broom handle that was outside on the deck in case I couldn't see him,  he ran from one window pane to another -  he did everything he could to get my attention. He didn't want his picture taken, he wanted a PEANUT!  His persistence and his gift to me of a blip earned him a double serving of peanuts tonight...and a spot in my "extra" slot. 

The Almost Sunset shot won the "main" slot, though as I waited ALL DAY for that one! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.