Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Central

'Central' being the subject of today's WidWed challenge, I couldn't resist the temptation to blip this glorious piece of Winchester Cathedral's 'ceiling'.  What you don't see is the roof space above here, though if you take a Tower Tour you can climb up hundreds of tiny stairs then walk the length of the building.

The central square of decoration in this shot lies above the crossing point of the transept and aisle and directly below the tower.  That decorated wooden circle right in the centre is in fact removable.  It's where the bells are hauled up or down as need arises (hopefully not too often!)

So I think you could safely call it the central point of the whole magnificent structure.

Okay, that's me.  I won't bother to tell you about the other sagas of my day like forgetting my PIN and mis-measuring the old washing machine so I could actually buy a new one once I got to Currys.  Really, those kind of stupidities are best left undiscussed ;))

Many thanks to RSDphotography for hosting today's challenge.

Hope your day's going well  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.