carliewired

By carliewired

Hot and Hazy

Just the low-hanging
fruit today - then it's hiding
from the heat and smoke

~ carliewired

I was up at 5 looking out at my smoke-hazed mountains from my deck.
 
At 6, I was out the door heading for Riverside Park. I thought I might get a look west to Kamloops Lake to see some evidence of the wildfire near Red Lake, about 15 km north of Kamloops Lake. I'm seeing the smoke laying over the Kamloops Lake and it is sifting out over our valleys. The residents of the Red Lake area have been evacuated as the Sparks Lake wildfire has now grown to 2300 hectares as of Tuesday night. This was one of 22 wildfires that broke out in the province on Monday. The extreme heat is making all efforts much more difficult for fire fighters and others involved. 

I made a very short foray into Riverside Park. Surprisingly, I found a couple of hardy souls playing a game of tennis before 6:30. I walked the pathway to the pier and looked west to the Overlander Bridge and beyond. Visibility is limited over Kamloops Lake. With the heat, the river levels are up again. There is no beach showing at all. Water is lapping on tree trunks in the perimeter of the park. Some trees seem to be dipping into the river. 

I attached my quilted heart to a park bench as one little red squirrel looked on. 

It's already 31 C at 8 AM. We might expect some thunder showers this afternoon with a high of 43 C. The rain would be most welcome. However, if we get lightning strikes we could be in for more wildfires. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.