carliewired

By carliewired

Red Sun at Morning

Under a dome of
smoke, the sun peeks through looking
red and bleary-eyed

~ carliewired

I was up and out at 6 AM. It was 25 C with poor visibility in the valleys. We're covered by a layer of smoke from wildfires. Today, I can smell it and taste it when outside. Air quality is listed as 3 meaning 'low risk'. The sun is glowing red through the smokey lid we have today. 

I drove into MacArthur Island Park determined to get my blip but not wanting to be outside for very long. I was greeted by two beautiful does having breakfast beside the walkway. They kindly posed for portraits. I noted the Canada geese still herding their broods through the Butterfly Garden. The babies are almost as big as the parents now. Small flocks of geese drifted along the waterway. I left my Canada Day quilted heart (red and white) hanging on a tree by the walkway. I could hear the drone of the water bomber out at the airport to the west of the island. Fire fighting is continuing in our area. 

Back at home with my drive-thru breakfast I listened to the grim news of the evacuation of the village of Lytton last evening. A 'catastrophic' fire ripped through it forcing all residents to flee. Having already suffered three days of extreme heat, residents have had to go the evacuation centre in Merritt. 

The heat wave is moving off to our neighbours to the east, the province of Alberta. Today we have a forecast high of 36 C and the possibility of some thunder showers. Fingers crossed that doesn't include lightning strikes! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.