Canada Day

'O, Canada, my
home and native land...' happy
one hundred - five, five!

~carliewired

I'm not planning any jaunts this morning. I made a short foray into my neighbourhood yesterday afternoon at the start of our long weekend. Within minutes I had a close encounter with large motorhome that should not have been on the road (at least not with that particular driver). My husband used to say that summer brought out the worst drivers - those who only commandeered their oversized recreation vehicle for three weeks each summer. Yesterday's experience has reminded me to stay home today!

My daughter loves to decorate for each holiday and special occasion. I have cruised through her home with my camera to capture the Canada Day collection that she has displayed. She has a Canadian icon for each of our Canadian coins. There is a maple leaf for our one cent piece. (Also known as a 'penny', but now discontinued.) She has a little wooden beaver for our five cent piece. (It's called a 'nickel'.) Our 'dime' or ten cent piece features a classic sailing ship from Nova Scotia, the Bluenose. The red caribou is represented on our twenty-five cent piece commonly called a 'quarter'. When our lowest value paper currency was replaced with a coin, the first to change was our one dollar bill. Now we have a 'loonie' with the loon on one side of the coin. More recently, a two dollar coin has been added to our coinage. It has two polar bears and is called a 'toonie'. 

My daughter and I will join forces today. We'll make a curry for dinner followed by rhubarb pie. It will be a relaxing day at home. I have a large Canadian flag that I will display on my deck railings. It can be viewed by the traffic below my house. 

We can expect a day of mixed sun and cloud and a chance of showers late in the afternoon with a high of 28 C. The city's celebration will start with a pancake breakfast at 7 AM in Riverside Park. I don't know if our usual fireworks after dark have been cancelled for this year. We'll be waiting to see. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.