Wound up in Wexford

By Neatwithice

Moth morning

Back blipped on 30th June.

Following our visit to Minsmere yesterday and our late night on the nightjar event, we returned to RSPB Minsmere before 0800 this morning, to be introduced to some of the many moths who make Minsmere their home.  We were introduced to moth traps, and their uses, and then introduced to innumerable species of moths as the egg cartons were gradually unpacked from one of the traps.  

I'm afraid the names of most of the moths went in one ear and out the other.  In a few days, one of the organisers will email us with a full list, and I can maybe match some of the names to some of the photos.

In the meanwhile, as extras I have put a couple of photos of the most memorable.  Who can forget the elephant hawk moth (first extra), especially after he walked on to my hand and then refused to move on!  We met one of the caterpillars of this moth four years ago in the garden, but I had never seen the moth itself.  And the eyed hawk moth (second extra) - stubbornly refusing to show off his eyes, was also pretty spectacular.  

And as for the moth pretending to be a piece of birch twig (third extra) - flipping incredible!  And there were several more that deserved to feature, but I can't show you them all.

After enjoying this introduction to moths, we were sorely tempted to get ourselves a moth trap - but we are aware of our OCD characteristics, and that we would find it really difficult to identify them all, but equally difficult to let them go without naming them. 

It was still too early for coffee in the cafe, so we walked over to the Bittern Hide again - no bitterns, one marsh harrier, and what I think was a buzzard being harassed by a gull.

Then back to the shop, where I lashed out some of the money we have saved by not going on expensive foreign holidays over the last 18 months, on some snazzy binoculars.  We would have liked to stay in Minsmere longer, but unfortunately I had a pre-existing dental appointment that I needed to get back for.

So we drove home, and then I had to go over to Dereham.  By the time I got back, the footie was just starting, and of course that was emotionally quite exhausting.  So I had a very early night.

A great couple of days - we need to book more trips out.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.