The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Seed heads

We had a visiting professional in nursery today, who stayed all day. "Just be yourselves" our boss had said. So we were. Apparently she was impressed. Hurrah! I'd been booked to stay all day instead of half a day (Wednesdays are overtime for me) so when I finally left I went and grabbed an iced coffee at a pavement cafe. My friend KB came by with her daughter K, and stopped to chat. I first met K at after-school club when she was six, and discovered that her family lived in the same street as me. I became her babysitter, and used to do craft sessions with her.

K is eighteen now, very tall, lovely looking, confident. The last time I saw her would've been about 2016, briefly. She's been through a lot. It was good to see her looking so beautiful and grown up, though I felt as if I had stood still, or shrunk by comparison. Sic transit, and all that. She even called me "Helena Ribena" which was one of my kids' club nicknames.

And now I'm watching Wimbledon on TV, with new, improved social distancing. Someone (Otte) is wearing the wrong size shorts, which are in danger of falling off, apparently. New shorts have been sent for. Play continues against the UK's Andy Murray, with an added frisson. No football tonight, and no more sessions at nursery this week. That's a relief.

'Last chance to buy' Christmas cards stock has arrived, as per my order. What could be stranger than Christmas cards in July? Christmas cards in June, obviously.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.