Pigeon on her Nest

After he'd come back from tennis, Len suggested we go for a walk at New Lount nature reserve, picking Basil up from his haircut on the way and taking a flask of tea and a few refreshments.

We climbed the stairs to the first pond where two broad bodied chasers were flirting with each other. Len spotted this pigeon sitting on her nest in a bush. She stayed perfectly quiet and still as if to say, 'You can't see me, I'm not here.'

We tackled the rutted bridle way and descended to the marshy hollow from where we went down the hill again to a larger pond. More dragonflies. Marsh orchids and a spiky plant with yellow flowers that I couldn't identify. Not to mention the grasses, yellow vetch and thistles in bloom.

At the car park we sat at a picnic bench to enjoy cups of tea and a banana. The picnic area overlooks a bird feeding station. Great tits, chaffinches, a robin and some goldfinches.

Back home I posted an event page to DIG advertising a talk by Tony Sweet. Then I got tired, cooked the dinner and devoted my evening to being a couch potato. Len went swimming.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.