Windmill 'Nooit Gedacht', Spijkenisse

'Nooit Gedacht' = 'NOYT Gedacht' = 'Never Thought'
'Spijkenisse' = 'SPY-kuh-nis-uh'
It's a large town along the A15, about 15 km. away from Rotterdam.  Actually, all the towns and villages around Rotterdam 'feel' as though they're actually part of Rotterdam, which they are decidedly not.  Wouldn't amaze me if at least close to 80% of everyone there is working in Rotterdam, either in the city itself or at the sprawling Europort, the largest port in Europe.

Not a very sunny day but nonetheless with enough light to make fairly acceptable shots.  I have been here before and have shot this, but that was about six years ago.  Not sure if I posted it then, and maybe I'll look for it another time.  Emphasis on 'maybe'.

It was good that I went out when I did because I had barely arrived back home, having done some supermarket errands on the way, when the rain began in earnest.  Sombre weather till the weekend.

No football watching today, although I did keep track of the scores.  Too bad the Germans are out.  On the other hand, their coach has been 'at it' these past 15 years and no doubt deserves, and needs, a break.  We shall see what will happen during the Quarter Finals.  In the meantime, our man in France is still wearing the Yellow Jersey.  I hope he hangs on to it till the end.

Almost done with the Book of Kells review.  Gamed heavily, too.  And then there were the usual household chores.  I'm also currently enjoying Before The Coffee Gets Cold by Japanese author Kawaguchi.  A strange, beguiling tale.

THANK YOU for dropping by once in a while.  I certainly hope you're still okay.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.