Dawn's Journal

By DawnP

Hawley Meadow

I took the car in for its first service today. As they needed to also perform some manufacturer required work they will need to keep it overnight. Fortunately, one of the benefits of retirement is there are no real pressures on needing a car (and I had been warned), so I will survive! 

As the service centre is a bit awkward to reach by public transport, I had dropped my now usable (hopefully) folding bike into the boot, and took a slow meander home via the supermarket (for a picnic lunch), Hawley Meadows, Costas (for morning coffee), back to Hawley Meadow (to consume the afore mentioned lunch and recover a few items which had dropped off the bike on the way - oops!), before heading home.  Checking a route planner later, I covered a total of over 10 miles though some of that was walked ... not bad for someone who hasn't ridden a bike in many years!

Hawley Meadow is part of the flood plain for the River Blackwater, and today was teeming with damselflies.  The main shot is a male banded demoiselle, a female is in extras.

Many thanks to everyone who viewed and commented on my 2190 (6-year) blip milestone yesterday ... it even managed to reach a dizzy height (for me) of page 3 of the popular page.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.