Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Nutty

I haven't posted a nuthatch in ages, even though I see them just about every day.  Right now the parents are busy feeding babies and are all looking a bit worse for their efforts.  I think that birds who raise their broods in cavities get a little more beat up then open-nesters.  Just a theory.  This male is showing a lot of wear on his face, probably because he's been at the receiving end of sharp nestling beaks, open wide for food.  I love that he perched low, on a level with the echinacea, making for a nice photo.  

I had a good night of sleep last night and felt very good up until around 2 which seems to be when the fatigue hits me.  However, I powered through, mainly thanks to a call from my niece and two grand nephews.  We haven't talked for a while so it was good to catch up.  They've just arrived in their new home in S. Carolina where my nephew will be working on his PhD for the next few years.  

It was supposed to be rainy with thunder showers today so I didn't attempt to take the kayak out - as it turned out, I should have ignored the forecast because although it was overcast, nary a drop of rain fell.  I could have had a great paddle this morning, darnit.  

Heading into a long weekend here in the US as we celebrate our Independence Day on Monday.  We don't have a thing planned, which is just the way we both wanted it.  No pressure.

Dark with ginger today.  How about you?

xo
Debbi.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.