Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

A first

Hard to believe, but this is the first juvenile White-breasted Nuthatch I have photographed.  Not sure why because there are always multiple pairs breeding in our woods each spring.  Perhaps I just never noticed them since they look remarkably like the adults.  If you look closely, though, you will see how fresh and new this bird's plumage is, and also the faint traces of his little baby "gape" at the corner of the bill.  I also saw it flutter wings when an adult was near by, a sign of begging to be fed.  I am putting a cute shot in Extra of the same bird in a rather classic nuthatch position.  I considered it for my main blip but like this one a bit better.

I slept late this morning, which was really nice.  Hubs was off to meet up with the race team for coffee so Jax and I took advantage of overcast skies to sit on the deck having tea and taking photos (me, not him).  Jax spent the time being on bear-alert which involved barking ferociously at a squirrel.  Yes, really.  One can't be too careful, I guess.

It's hot and sticky out today with a forecast later for severe thunderstorms. I think it may cool down a bit overnight so I can hopefully get the rest of the zinnias in the ground in the morning.  I also need to clear some more non-native weeds from my pollinator garden, including the dreaded stilt grass that seems to grow on even the smallest patch of dirt.  Nasty stuff.  

Dark with orange today.  And I'm going to cut up some watermelon too.  I'm trying to add more calories to my diet right now in an effort to regain about 5 pounds.  This is the first time in my 66 years that I have ever had to make an effort to gain weight - it feels all wrong to someone who spent most of their life on one diet after another.

To my American friends, enjoy the long weekend and be safe on the roads if you are traveling - to all my friends elsewhere, have a great weekend (and be safe on the roads).

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.