Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

First of the Season

And later than usual - a Snowberry Clearwing Moth (Hemaris diffinis), one of my top favorites.  Usually I see a few early in the spring and then in larger numbers in July, this is quite late for a first sighting.  This one didn't stay long, but long enough to top off the tanks on the Common Milkweed in the garden.  I debated between this dorsal view or a lateral view.  Putting the lateral in Extra - let me know if you have a preference.  

I also chased a few dragons around the garden which was fun and got the macro lens (with flash and diffuser) on a snazzy looking blowfly and a tiny brown damselfly.  But it uncomfortably hot. by early afternoon so I gave up.  Ditto with the weed whacking I was attempting.  

Had a really nice FT chat with Mom and Dad this morning - they are both looking and feeling almost completely better after their recent covid adventure.  I am so grateful that the vaccines and boosters did exactly what they were supposed to do - they kept my parents from getting seriously sick.  They are still isolating per the CDC guidelines but did venture out with KN95 masks to get some fresh berries and tamales from some outdoor vendors.  

I'm planning a light dinner tonight - something with garbanzo beans, tomatoes, herbs and whatever else I have on hand.  

And tomorrow we will celebrate our nation's birthday ..  and Jax's birthday!  He will be one year tomorrow. He's currently passed out on the sofa but soon he'll be up and ready to play.

Dark with ginger today.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.