Marionb

By Marionb

COLOUR! At Last.....

Today was my first day at home after being away at the cottage for several days. I had left behind a green garden and returned to ....COLOUR! Finally! Some Colour!...Of course, I had to celebrate this amazing transformation with a blip - and even use up one of my very few remaining "extras", so that one day I can look back and remember that yes, there actually was colour in my garden!  To get these photos, I had to rush out between thunderstorms, but it was worth it. 

Of course, however, my now colourful garden was a jungle, everything overgrown and smothered in weeds...and oh yes, thistles. I have thistles everywhere - thistles taller than even my yucca spike (which, by the way is about to bloom too! ) Thistles, it seems, are just as difficult to get rid of as goutweed - which thrives in my back yard garden..Thistles out front, goutweed out back..Oh the joys of gardening. 

I read online today that there ARE ways to defeat thistles but they all involve hard labour and take years and often do not work anyway. The best answer I found? A goat. Seems goats eat thistles.. not sure what eats goutweed, but I would be happy to find out...I already have a rabbit that eats Creeping Charlie...Things are looking up - Now to check the town bylaws....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.