Marionb

By Marionb

The Great Charity Shop Shuffle

Well, it happened again today. I took two boxes of clutter to our local charity shop and came home with more than I donated.

I have been inspired..to a certain extent...by a book called WELCOME HOME. A Cozy Minimalist Guide to Decorating and Hosting All Year Round. I am a collector of clutter and an abundance addict, and the mere word "minimalist" makes me cringe, but "cozy" appealed to me. 

Apparently, according to this book, I need to decorate seasonally but not with abundance. For example, I do not need bins of fake pumpkins for autumn decor? ( which I did and which I have just dropped off at the charity shop today) Nor do I need all those Hallowe'en table decorations that I use only one day a year.  

All I need are a few branches of coloured leaves from the yard,  and two REAL pumpkins; then, I can just throw them out when the snow flies. No need for storage! I am not sure yet what I am to bring in during the winter or how many Christmas decorations I should display.. as the book was overdue at the library and I had to take it back. 

Whatever, this is what I brought home today ..and trust me, each item was carefully selected and rationalized, and will fit into my new cozy minimalism lifestyle....once I weed out and "minimalize" my collections of antique china, dinnerware, books, sea shells, candle holders, table linens, fabric, yarn and craft supplies to make room for them.... 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.