Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

MOE on a Friday night

(3/7/21)
It's funny how much you forget when you try to write a journal 24 hours later!

After posting my journal for the day, I ended up working on a video for the SA meeting. I thought it would be a short, simple affair, just condensing an audio file, but it turned out to be hours of work, especially when I decided to add some visuals as we would be watching it via YouTube!

It may have all been in vain as only one person showed up! G reminded me that when there aren't any officers present, the core falls apart. Oh well, at least I tried, and I was able to post a link in the WhatsApp group so people can watch at their leisure.

The rest of the day was the same as any Friday, except I had my captioning job. I had to take a (much needed) break in between as we had said to Shingi (one of our SA members) that we'd meet up with hand to hand over a supermarket voucher. He knows someone who needs help. The nearest public place for him to get to is Mall of the Emirates. We would normally avoid a place like this, especially on a weekend evening, but it's the only day he has off.

I couldn't believe how busy it was, even during these times! Thankfully Shingi was on time and we chatted for a few minutes before we left. We left him with a few spare so we wouldn't have to trek out there again!

That job done, we headed to G's newly discovered Palestinian restaurant, but they are so popular, we were informed the waiting time was 40 minutes. No thanks! We ended up on the other side of town in Skye and Walker. That was lovely and quiet, and they had great food and a better discount on my Zomato app!

I tried to do some more caption checking but I struggled to stay awake.

My blip is of a tiny section of the Mall as we entered. I hope you can see all the different levels.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.