Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Hexham Book Festival

I went to my first indoor event with a lot of other people today. I booked two events at Hexham's Book Festival.

Here is Sarah welcoming me at the door of the Spiegeltent. Some of the events are inside here. It is a large travelling tent from Denmark and looks as though it might have been part of a circus. Inside there is coloured glass in the roof and lots of mirrors around the place. My seat was on a side wall and was comfortably padded. Most people were on fold up metal seats. The tent can hold 400 when full, but Covid restrictions reduced the number.  We were well spaced out inside.

Luke Harding spoke about his book Shadow State. It's an in depth look into the nefarious activities of Russian spies in recent years.

Gavin Esler spoke about How Britain Ends which was a look at the rise of Nationalism in the United Kingdom. The audience produced excellent, well informed questions after this talk.

I'm sorry I have not booked for more events and may see if I can go again during the week.

Otherwise, I enjoyed watching Emma Raducanu win her match at Wimbledon. Oh to be so young, so athletic and so delightful!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.