The Cup & Kettle Café

I do my best! However, when I went up to Scotland I wasn't expecting painters for 3 weeks. I got a call yesterday saying they were coming today! Same crew as did the roof.

So, first thing this morning I'm seeing to getting a tray ready with mugs, tea, coffee, sugar, milk and the kettle which they can use from an extension cable. The phone rang and it was "the boss" saying the scaffolders would be arriving and had his painters arrived? Well, no, nobody had!

At ten the painters arrived and were surprised that the scaffolders weren't here yet to adjust the platforms after the roofing job. They wondered what to do. "Have a cup of tea!" I said.

No sooner had those 4 got their tea poured and the scaffolders arrived. "How many of you are there?" I asked. "Six" Well, at this time of day most of my mugs are in the dishwasher so they had to make do with plastic ones. (They weren't getting this special china one bought in aid of the Haig Fund.)

The ten of them finished drinking and got on with their jobs.

It was a damp day. I really must get out the gazebo for them next week. I'll pin up this poster in it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.