curns' corner

By curns

Isolation

After the events of the last week I spent today in self-isolation while PY’s mum and David visited.  Last night we had throughly cleaned the downstairs areas they would use if they decided it was OK to come in the house and, this morning, we cleaned the main bathroom and both decided we would not use it until they had left.  I sat in the room that I use as my office during the week shouting occasional hellos and conversations downstairs while they were here. The boundary is the stairs. I am upstairs whenever they are down.  For the most part the weather was overcast and cool but decent enough for the three of them to sit outside.  I think this was the most comfortable sate for everybody.   They all went for a lunch at the Indian around the corner and the verdict was that it was excellent and this was followed by a visit to Wimbledon Village to look at the window displayed dedicated to the tennis tournament.

It feels very strange not being able to interact with people who are in a different part of your own home. We are lucky that we have space that I can be somewhere separate. Every time they left I took he opportunity to make some food or a drink and then fastidiously disinfected the surfaces I had touched.  But, I did not feel like a prisoner: I am in my own house with plenty to do and I am very happy that PY is able to spend time with them. It would have been awful if that had not been possible. It’s not ideal but, hopefully, not totally ruined.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.