A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

The Hare and the Otter

I collected these stitched pictures yesterday having put them in for framing before we went on holiday. (Had to take them on a but of an angle to avoid light reflection)

I can’t really remember how long they have taken me to do but I started and worked on both of them in Scotland over the last few years. I found them when searching for ‘Blackwork’ and the work seen in the background and surrounds of each animal is black work even though it isn’t black!
The hare and the otter are done in cross stitch. I have joked before that this was going to be the only otter I will see in Scotland!

I got interested when I attended a talk on Blackwork in 2016
and then did a sample piece in black and gold as a gift. I’ve looked for a picture of that but I think I probably didn’t blip it as I know my SiL looks in so I would probably be keeping it a secret.
I do enjoy doing it but tend to only work on them in good light in the summer and then there’s all the knitting! But I have started something else whilst in Scotland so that may make it to blip later.

The only problem I have now is where to hang them, I left an empty wall when we had the dining room decorated but I’ve kind of got used to it like that.

Just watched Cav win another sprint stage in Le Tour!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.