Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Pipes

A new dry stone wall feature for me to ponder, but given the location and context it didn’t take me too long to work this one out.

The wall runs through Silden Ings, in a pasture next to the River Aire. In the winter months these fields spend much of the time flooded, and I guess having pipes like these aids the flow of the water and helps prevent collapse of the walls.

I’d just popped up on the train for another evening pre-season friendly, with Silsden hosting Ilkley Town, who I’d seen at home on Saturday. The first half was an even game, but Ilkley went on to score three with no reply against a team from the tier above them. Things are looking promising for their step up into their semi-pro leagues.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.