Unusual visitor

Neither of us is terribly good at identifying birds, but we think this unusual visitor to the balcony is a juvenile bullfinch. It was sitting on the balcony as I came in for one my periodic wanders around the flat, allowed me to take a couple of pictures through the window, and then didn’t object when I came out the other door and pointed the lens at it. In fact, it didn’t move until I came up really close, which seemed odd behaviour. Anyway, someone will put me right if I’m wrong.

We do see a small number of different birds on the balcony (other than seagulls and pigeons) including blackbirds and wood pigeons (aka fat bastards), but this is definitely an unusual event. Hoping it is something to do with the greener environment we’re offering than before. Perhaps I ought to get some bird feeders, although then I would struggle to keep the pigeons away.

More work, and managed to get back to a paper that is basically three quarters finished and has been languishing for months. A last push, I hope, although there are other things that need doing in the meantime that will distract me. More peloton in the morning, and then a walk to Milk for a change of scene. I’m now about to watch some football match - on the ipad, not the TV, as someone here is not keen…

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.