OH I DO LIKE TO BE BESIDE THE SEASIDE

I fancied going to the seaside so I checked the weather forecast and it was set fair so I got the bus to Gateshead and then the Metro to South Shields which is the closest seaside place to where I live. The Metro only takes about 25 mins.

To get to the sea its a long walk from the Metro along Ocean Road which was quite busy and bustling.  Lots of folk at the coast too but not too many actually on the beach.  I walked to the end of the South Pier and on my way back I then turned left on to  Sandhaven Beach.  I went down to the waters edge which is where I took my blip shot.

As the Abstract Thursday them is water I did some processing in Picasa.  Thanks to Ingeborg for hosting.

My Extra collages show both beaches and  the view across to Tynemouth Priory  and also the Tyne Lifeboat and the Lifeboat Memorial.

Then I walked back along Ocean Road and popped into a few charity shops - didn't get anything.  Then I walked further along until I reached the Ferry landing.  Watched a ferry come across the river from North Shields.  Further round on the other side of the river there was a large cruise ship - The Marella Explorer 2. She actually docked in the Port of Tyne this morning and leaves on Saturday so I was lucky to see her.  I have included a shot of her and also the ferry in my Extras.

The weather was really nice and got quite warm.  So lovely to spend time at the seaside and enjoy the sea air.

Metro journey back to Gateshead was fine but then things went a bit wrong.  Had a 45 min wait for a bus home.  ( 3 times longer than it should have been) Of course when the bus came it was almost full.  All the Gateshead passengers just piled on until there was no standing room left. No social distancing was possible.  After that it was one passenger off and one on so some folk were left at their stops when the full bus went speeding past.  A very uncomfortable journey indeed. 

Steps today - 13,125

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.