Happy Friday

Another lovely, if a bit warm, day. Spent much of the day with my mom...today she slept all morning and finally woke up in time for lunch. So no games today. But it was peaceful and always lovely to see her and enjoy a meal with her. 

We're going to be in Calistoga, CA next week on vacation - I fly down after teaching on Monday and my husband (who doesn't fly) is leaving Sunday morning by car. So I did a lot of errands before heading home and unfortunately ended up with a migraine just after I got home. But the meds have kicked in and I took a spin around the garden looking for a blip. It was a little late, so the light had shifted, but I really love this nasturtium. Not my best photo, but it's so darned bright and cheery. You know you can eat all of the parts of nasturtiums? Mind the aphids though...it's an absolute magnet for them.

The extra, just for fun, is a garden phlox. This is, I believe, a seedling that has reverted to one of the parents of a hybrid garden phlox. It's a very odd color but very hardy and has planted it self in various places around both gardens. I do love phlox and wish I had more. It doesn't seem to be a very common plant here - hard to find. I'm guessing it's because it's hardy to USDA zones 4-8 and we're 8b here....probably just a wee bit too warm. But in my garden it does fine, unless it succumbs to powdery mildew. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.