“Interesting” day

A recce walk with Corinthian and R started with delays on the little bus which goes around the villages.  A lorry blocking roadworks led to frustrated drivers.  Once on the move our driver tried to make up time, but shot out onto a roundabout and hit a car coming through. Passengers on the floor of the bus, but no injuries thankfully. Second bus to Utley, and walked past lovely old houses to reach Keighley Golf Club.  A club I have never been to and it looks to be a beautiful course.  A lovely walk up the hillside, through woodlands and fields and then back down to the canal - lots of animals en route, including this heron on the look out for lunch (more in extras). Paddle boarders and a canoe on the canal - wouldn’t fancy falling into that water!  Back through the golf course and into Utley Cemetery which is fascinating with impressive Victorian headstones and vaults - must return and see more.  Once back in town I went off to the supermarket as my daughter said she would pick me up so that I didn’t have to carry more heavy items on the bus.  She turned up with my grandson, so we had a brew and a chat when we reached home. Turns out the canoeists we had seen are teachers at his school.  Once L & F left I went down the village to collect my prescription and a map for the scarecrow festival starting tomorrow. Apparently the local hairdresser is freaked out by the scarecrows at the school opposite as they appear to be staring at her!  :-)  I then called on walking friend P as she hadn’t been able to join us on our Tuesday walk.  Finally walked home at 5pm, and then had to put the shopping away!  Full on, but good day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.