Leaving so soon?

It really wasn't leaving; it landed about 100 m further out on the tidal flats. And it probably isn't fair to think it was soon as I had taken 15 pictures of it before it took flight. Departure was because of an approaching woman who had noticed neither me with my camera nor the spoonbill.

This is the first spoonbill I have seen in the feather, as S put it. She is envious, as she still hasn't.

It was an interesting time along the shoreline this afternoon, as the sun had come out after persistent rain until mid afternoon. Good for the ground, the plants, and farmers. The first unusual sight was to see four white doves fly over me and land on the wet sand and rocks of Algies Bay beach, and start pecking away.

Next I spotted a heron in an interesting place and could see two smaller birds nearby. So I approached carefully; heron departed and I was close enough to see that the common oyster catcher was accompanied by a solitary godwit. Around the point, along our beach, and around the next headland to Snells Beach.

There I saw a lot of birds and after a careful approach I was close enough to see that there were ducks, herons, oyster catchers and godwits sharing the feeding opportunities. Felt really pleased with a photo of godwits and ducks in close proximity.

Turned to return shorewards, and there was this single spoonbill. who displayed perfect poses, feeding habits and finally take-off form.

Very satisfying after a day of preparing for another meeting in Wellington (one day this time), and doing some correspondence.

Large is good

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.