Sauntering homeward

Started a new locum placement at North Shore Hospital this morning. In Consultation Liaison. As I needed to be there early to make sure I knew where I was going and what I was doing, I deferred a run until after getting home.

Interesting day. Very gentle pace compared with the inpatient ward, and even with the private work I do. Perhaps it will get busier.

Collected Mr H from after school and then went for a short jaunt along Great North Road. Not a real run. Just a brisk walk, actually. With the camera.

In front of me were two young women, one in the uniform of a local secondary school, the other not. It occurred to me that they made an attractive pair for a photograph, and also showed the easy relationships young New Zealanders of different ethnicity have. I kept on walking.

And thinking. And decided that the worst that would happen to me is to be thought badly of, and responded to in that way. I stopped and went back and introduced myself. I have found that giving my name immediately on establishing contact, diminishes the chance of being misunderstood.

After an explanation that reminded me yet again of the need to get some blipfoto cards, they agreed to be photographed walking towards me. I jogged ahead and then took four quick photos, this being the second and clearly the best of them. I then thanked them, showed them the photos in the screen, and they were happy with them.

As I wanted to be able to identify them in some way (making them real persons) I asked if they would tell me their names or initials. Very happy with the latter.

Therefore, thank you PL and FS for being such delightful young people and agreeing to have this photo put on blipfoto.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.