Cresting the wave

Once again I chose to take my exercise this afternoon. Daylight saving means that it is dark until after I need to be back to get ready for the day ahead, and at the same time there is ample daylight later into the evening. S and I chose to walk along the Coastal Walkway starting from the Breakwater carpark.

The sky was grey (most of the time) and the wind was whipping in off the Tasman Sea. The gulls were circling and really just had to be having fun in the air; there was no other reason for what they were doing. Then I noticed the surfers. 

Because I was walking, I had the camera bag, and therefore the longer lens to replace the usual one. Despite the lowish light, I got a number of good photographs, especially of one young man. Eventually, I decided that this was the best. Forgive the title, but I wanted to indicate that this was a controlled turn and he then sped down the face of the wave.

Much of the spray by the surfer was caused by him turning at speed and the water being caught and spread by the wind. Earlier we had spoken to an older surfer who had just left the water, and clambered up the rocks to the walkway. He described the surfing as wicked and the wind as something else.

During a lull at work today (being the crisis doctor, I had nothing to do if there were no crises!!), I have caught up on the recent developments. I'm sad to learn that Blipfoto is in the process of being liquidated; in New Zealand, this is called being "in receivership", and the receivers are charged with trying to manage the recovery of the company rather than just closing it down. I don't know if the same processes are followed in the UK, but I hope so. As earthdreamer has stated more than once, we members are the only real assets the company has. Hopefully someone, or some company, will figure that we are assets worth having. 


Alternatively we could do some sort of "buyout" if enough of the members collectively try and put together a package. If that is possible. I like earthdreamer's suggested tag to show our support, and also the tag I saw on CraigD supporting Joe. I never believed that he had done anything other than try to keep Blipfoto going. These events confirm that for me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.