The effects of Pam

Cyclone Pam has devastated parts of the Pacific in its fury over the last week or more. There have been deaths, and thousands are now without a roof over their heads. In much smaller communities, this is not unlike what happened in Christchurch in 2011. And I expect that recovery will take at least as long.

The force of Pam was muted by the time it was close enough to New Zealand to affect us. In New Plymouth (the westernmost point of the North Island; I was in error a few days ago, when I suggested it was, actually or nearly, the westernmost point of NZ) the winds have been stronger this afternoon and evening, and there have been a few brief showers. The surf is a bit bigger than I have seen it on previous runs. Not a major effect at all.

However, the sea was markedly more robust when I went for a late afternoon run along part of the Coastal Walkway. I am pleased with this composition, and S was much more enthusiastic about this photo than a photo of Bird 44 for 2015. I was able to get a rather good photo of the Australian magpie to give me a total of 44 different species seen, identified definitively, and photographed. (Seeing kahu, the Australasian harrier, many times is frustrating, as I cannot count it until I manage to get a photo; of whatever quality!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.