TRIPLE

I went for a walk in the dunes today which were gratifyingly awash with orchids and butterflies. I think these are Northern Marsh Orchids - I confused myself a bit looking at all the ID sites, but there were lots of them,  as well as Common Spotted, Pyramidal and I think others.

I'll confine myself to one extra, as I saw my first Graylings of the year today, but the wildflower "dells" on the lee side of the dunes were full of Common Blues, Meadow Browns, Small Heaths, Small Skippers, Six Spot Burnet Moths and Ringlets as well, and I got a bit carried away. As I drove back to the main road I watched young swallows learning about life and a Marsh Harrier hunting over the fields. Not bad for the road behind the nuclear power station which usually, but not today, smells awful from the fumes of a food additives factory and is loomed over by the skeletons of the oil platforms being broken up by the recycling plant, not to mention a huge landfill site across the road.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.