Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Beach Scenes

Yesterday I made a road trip to the beach where my cousin and family from Cleveland were staying for their annual beach vacation. Before going to their rental house I stopped to see a friend who is in her 80s, active and healthy. Time got away from us so it was about 5pm before I got to the house at the beach.

We visited to catch up on family news and then decided to walk on the beach after we had some supper. While eating we noticed the sky was clouded over. Then kapow ! A giant thunderclap and a flash of lightning followed by sudden wind and a flood of rain! It stormed for over an hour and then settled in to just steady rain past 9pm. So no walk.

I had to take the photo posted yesterday through the open door and across the porch. The rain was blowing onto the porch so it was really hard to get a shot...plus lightning! The bush is actually the top of a palm tree since we were on the second floor of the house.

This morning I woke at 6am and quietly got dressed and went to the beach for a walk. Very few people were out so it was peaceful but not quiet. The ocean always makes itself heard. Some people like the sound of waves but I would rather hear a babbling brook.


But I do enjoy all the treasures found on the shore. Home again now as my cousins are making the long drive back to Ohio today.

Have a good weekend Blippers!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.