A day in the life

By Shelling

Home cooking

Today was a good day. A friend called this morning to tip me of an event in this areas main city, where they were short of artists for one of their public concerts in the town square. I called the contact and me and B, who I'm doing a show with songs by a Swedish composer together with, might have  got one more gig this summer.

I had some nice rehearsing time until lunch, when a friend from long ago called and wants to visit me on Tuesday. It's a long time since I had a visitor in these times of isolation. It'll be fun and I can feel the hard edges around Corona is starting to soften just a little bit.

In the evening I was invited to dinner at a kind of private restaurant, or "foodstudio", as the man running it calls it. In his garden he built a room with a large table and some wood-burned ovens where he cooks and/or smokes the food. He serves three course menus to booking guests, eight at the time and he's doing it because he always wanted to offer something like this. He's from Chile, is a skilled chef who's worked in all sorts of fancy restaurants but has decided to stay on Öland to work some of his time as a chef and some of his time as a teacher in Spanish for schoolkids, and then to offer his cooking-services in his own garden. You can also book him as chef to your own party, he's full of ideas. Of course the food was super excellent, I would certainly want to visit his garden kitchen again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.