A day in the life

By Shelling

Long Island

In the morning I completed my recordings of the Beatles-program. Eleven songs and eleven poems. Now I need to make the whole thing sound like a unity and then its done.

The evening was devoted to a string quartet, playing on my island, in a church some twenty minutes from here. They are professional musicians and call themselves "Long Island string quartet", named after my island and because some of them lives here in the summer. They made a weekend tour of three different churches on the island, all with a different program. I chose this evenings concert because they were playing string quartet nr.9, composed by Dmitrij Schostakovitj. I love his music for the emotional and musical value and they played it brilliantly. They also played music by Henry Purcell and Joseph Haydn. The church was completely full and the quartet got standing ovations, of course.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.