carliewired

By carliewired

Grim Prospects

Until I looked out
I had high hopes of a jaunt
with my camera

~ carliewired

I was up and out at 6:30. The temperature was 22 C with an air quality of 5. Plans were dashed when I had a view out over the city overwhelmed by wildfire smoke. It has seeped into our valleys overnight and continues to thicken. We have fires around us at all points of the compass. The closest is near our biggest ski hill, Sun Peaks to the northeast of me. 

I made a quick trip to the Schubert Drive Lookout on the north shore. Close views were possible, far views were poor unless I was facing north. I could see the railway bridge and the Halston bridge on the North Thompson River. The city, to the south, was invisible. 

I decided this was a good day for groceries and heading home fast. I appreciated the floral landscape in the lookout and took my limited photos of the area. This is not a day that favours photographers. By the time I arrived back, the air quality had deteriorated to 8 (high risk).

We can expect a high temperature of 35 C. No threat of a thunderstorm, thankfully. I'm in for the day. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.