carliewired

By carliewired

Shuswap Road - South Thompson

It was delightful
to watch the light come into
the benchlands out east

~ carliewired

It was already 18 C when I left the house at 6 AM. The air quality index read 3 (low risk) so on this sunny morning there remained a bit of haze in the sky.

I still feel the need to avoid groups of people yet my usual country roads make me a bit nervous. Wildfires can pop up without warning. I don't want to be away from home and suddenly get cut off from a return. I chose the drive along Shuswap Road this morning. It's close to main routes and usually quiet. 

I picked up my breakfast at the drive-thru and stopped to enjoy it enroute. The South Thompson River is full and smooth with lots of reflections. There are many lovely homes along the river. You can tell by the number of docks that they are boating enthusiasts.  I found a couple of fellows fishing. I love the views of the benches in the area of the ranches. The sun comes into them at different angles highlighting their contures. Much of the vegetation is sunburned and very dry. On my way home I caught a view of the backsides of my mountains, Peter and Paul. 

No birds cooperated with me today. I very nearly squashed a little flock of chukars when they exploded out of the roadside grasses. My little red bomber is a hybrid which makes very little noise. No doubt I scared them. 

Somehow it took me 2 hours to complete this jaunt this morning. It was fabulous! 

We are expecting a high of 33 C with a risk of a thunderstorm late this afternoon. It will be another inside day for me. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.