carliewired

By carliewired

Riverside Activities

Too many people,
not enough birds - note to self
GET HERE EARLIER!

~ carliewired

It was a slow start this morning. I have no one but myself to blame. I really just wanted to make a pot of coffee and stay home to putter. 

I left the house just at 7. It was already 20 C. 

I picked up my breakfast in the drive-thru, sat in the parking lot to consume it and then started my jaunt through Riverside Park. 

Humans were active in every area of the park. Only one eagle was found in a tree by north end of the railway bridge. My telephoto lens comes in handy as it was on the other side of the river. 

The pickle ball courts were already in full swing when I arrived. The participants fill the parking lot so I was lucky to find a spot. 

There was a small boat on the river. I suspect it was in some official capacity, not a pleasure craft. There is still a lot of debris in the river and it is flowing swiftly. 

A rather contented gent has situated himself on the pier with his fishing pole and his back to the sun. 

There were people on the beach with one wading in the shallow edge. 

City staff was busy everywhere....cleaning washrooms, emptying garbage, tending plants and washing out the water park. 

I was quite intrigued to find a "dig" in operation near the concession. Four young adults in safety vests were inside a fenced off area. One was down in a rather shallow hole digging with a shovel. One above was filtering soil through a screen set up under a tripod such as archeaologists do. Two others stood and watched them. I am very curious to know what this is all about. 

I left my quilted heart on a bench near this mystery dig and set off for home. 

Air quality this morning was 2 (low risk) at 8 AM. Our expected high today is 34 C with temperatues heating up again over the next few days. 

Last night's thunderstorm was quite the light show. I have no idea if strikes have started new fires. No rain came to my yard last night. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.