Louis Lake & Paul Lake

A morning with sun
is not to be missed even
for my groceries! 

~ carliewired

I was up all too early and out on my deck at 5 to catch those little wisps of colour in the clear sky. I decided I would enjoy my coffee, then head across the Halston bridge to my east and up the hill to Paul Lake Provincial Park. I reasoned I could get my photos this morning and be at the grocery store when it opened at 7 AM. 

It's a steady climb up the hill from Highway 5. The first stop was beside Louis Lake where I could see the mist rising up and Canada geese hunkered down in the reeds. I waited a few minutes, viewing the shallow lake from my car. The geese gently floated into the middle where they could be seen (and photographed). 

I moved on up the hill to the entrance to the Provincial Park. The sign said the campground was full. At the entrance was a rabbit poised in a streak of morning sun as if waiting for me to show up with my camera. I wound my way down to the public beach on the lake's north side to park. I walked down to the shoreline where I could look east to the misty waters. Looking west, I could see the housing on the far shore and geese and someone standing on the dock. The Canada geese were very busy preening. I wasn't sure what the man on the dock was doing. When I zoomed in I could see his fly rod. I could hear loons calling on the lake. One appeared in the middle of the lake and I managed one photo before it disappeared under water. 

I drove back up to the main road to find some asters blooming on the roadside. I headed back down the hill towards the city making my last stop a shot of the abandoned cabin. Behind on the horizon,  I could see the ski runs for Harper Mountain where I learned to ski many years ago. 

I picked up my groceries and my drive-thru breakfast then was home for 8 AM. I'm in for the day with jobs to do. 

We have a day of mixed sun and cloud with a high of 26 C and a chance of showers this afternoon. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.