carliewired

By carliewired

95 F/ 35 C

It seemed like a good
morning to drive up the hill 
to admire Paul Lake

~carliewired

I was slow-moving this morning. I left the house at 7 to drive east and up the hill to Paul Lake. It's a beautiful morning with just a touch of smoke in the air. 

I was watching for horses but they were far off on the hill to the north of the road. My telephoto lens could barely do the job. 

The sun was well up and glinting off the water when I parked beside the lake. I took the path on the northwest corner to walk a short distance along the lake edge. The wildflowers are already fading away with our dry weather. 

We keep getting promised some showers but they don't materialize. Instead, we get some lightning strikes which start fires. Currently, we have over 200 fires of varying sizes burning in the province. 

This is the first time I've encountered any other people on this trail. Today, I met several. There were lots of boats and kayaks to be seen. I chatted with a couple who were just putting their boat in the lake to spend a day fishing. 

As I turned for home, I caught the osprey on its nest. I think that's a chick in the nest beside it. 

My surprise for the day was finding a mature bear up in a tree. I had to stop for that one! I was trying to imagine why the bear would want to climb the tree, but I have no idea. 

I zoomed down the hill, crossed the Yellowhead Hwy, picked up my breakfast and was home by 8:30. 

 I'm in for another quiet day with no activity needing my feet.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.