The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Stroud Vintage Bus Gala

The vintage buses were back today, outside Stroud College, with enthusiasts and bus owners mingling outdoors. Rides for mask-wearing passengers were on offer along vintage routes. I usually go on a ride, but it was late when I got there, and conditions were misty. A severe reaction to something (nettle stings?) was also causing me pain. So CleanSteve and I wandered around eyeing up the buses, taking photos and soaking up the atmosphere. The gala doesn't take place in Stroud every year, so I doubt whether there was a scheduled event in 2020 that had to be cancelled, but I could be wrong. At any rate, it was a Grand Day Out for many who had travelled from far-flung places.

The day's events had started earlier for me with a lift up to GG's with friend G. We chatted, helped her with various tasks, and had lunch together in lieu of a walk. I did suggest a walk, but GG was not bothered. I think she gets taken out for a walk almost every day, by a near-neighbour. The reality of coping with her right arm being in plaster for another six weeks or so is making her feel very fed up, but she is so grateful for all the help she's received, and had me writing thank you notes on her behalf.

After attending the bus gala, we came home and I took in the washing, which had got soaked in the rain, put chamomile lotion on all the itchy patches on my left side, took some paracetamol and went to bed, and promptly fell asleep!

Now we're watching England Vs Italy in the Euro 2020 (2021) finals. As I'm not a fortune teller, I'm not predicting anything. As we used to say at school, May the best team win.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.