Car camping trip

So. Many. Deer.
So many deer crossing the road.
So many deer next to the road. 
Why do deer cross the road so slowly? 
It is like they know they are beautiful, like unicorns.
They know you are staring at them, as if they are unicorns.
They like you staring at them  - so they cross slowly - while you gape.

THIS is why you obey the speed limit!

Car camping does require some dexterity to get in and out. A two-inch bed may not be for side sleepers. It is much quieter than tent camping and it feels safer, like there is metal between you and bad guys instead of fabric. I slept until 8:30 am! 

It was so wonderful waking up this morning to perfect temperature and humidity and a breeze and sunshine. The Shenandoahs are higher in elevation and thus a welcome relief from the country's heat wave.

In the Before Times, I came to Shenandoah one night for Milky Way photography. A friend and I rented a cabin well in advance, as you have to for popular sites. She was really surprised at how many people showed up in a middle of a field in the middle of the night to take pictures of the sky. We had cloud cover all night. 

We had cloud cover last night. Hey. Life. BUT now I know I don't need a room and months of notice, I can come any Milky Way weekend with no notice. I know exactly how much distance my vehicle battery can cover for this trip. I wish it were more, but ... range anxiety, it is real. With car camping I will be back on a clear sky night. 

Attached are two pictures I took of the night sky and a picture of the bed. 

The main picture is my derelict on the way home, highly edited to take out boring stuff, like other houses and power lines. 

 Thank you for hosting Marlieske 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.