Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

Moss

An afternoon walk from Kirkintilloch to Lenzie Moss Local Nature Reserve (pictured), returning via Boghead Wood and Christine's Way.

It was an eventful afternoon. I had been walking for about 30-40 minutes when the heavens opened. Dressed in a t-shirt and chinos, it was Summer Rain 1, Ivar 0. I sheltered under a tree for a bit before going back out into the rain, which soon ended as quickly as it had started and I continued my walk in warm sunshine. 

I was about a mile from the end of my walk when I met one of my friends from our Ramblers group walking in the other direction and planning to do the same route in reverse! We blethered from a bit before going our separate ways. Back at the car park and just getting into the car when I heard a shout - it was very good friends of mine who had just returned from their holidays down south and were in Kirky doing some shopping. So that was another long - and very enjoyable - chat.

My phone app reckoned I had walked about five miles, but it had taken me nearly three and a half hours, what with all these chance encounters!

An evening watching the football. For this Scotland fan, it was a stress-free evening for a change. Less so for my English friends, I suspect.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.