Shetland cattle

Off up to Shetland for a few days to meet up with my sister and brother-in-law who are on holiday. A busman's holiday of a sort for them as they have started a herd of Shetland Cattle and were keen to meet other owners here for more information. Not being a cattle person myself (frankly, they're big and intimidating to me!) I was surprised what a really interesting time I had and how placid the beasts were, especially the cows with young calves. We were made very welcome and stayed much later than anticipated!

Shetland has a wild and compelling beauty. More exploring to be done but later tonight we're out to Mousa broch to wait for the storm petrels to come in. It's low cloud so it'll be a bit hit and miss I think! Chilly too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.