Beinghere

By Beinghere

Maggie at The Beach

I started the day with a walk at Kilrenny, in Innergelly Woodland. It was dry, quite sunny, warm with very little wind. There seemed to be honeysuckle every way I turned, and the air was full of the beautiful scent. When we got up to the top of the wood there was a freshly mown field with two hares chasing each other. Geordie just about burst, desperate to get into the field but couldn’t find a way in. When he did find a way in the hares we’re nowhere to be seen so he just did zoomies around the field. He loves wide open spaces.

After lunch Maggie came and our day really started. We played in the garden for a while then she wanted to go to the beach. So all three of us went down to the bathing pool. It was very busy but Maggie didn’t care, she was right in the water. I barely had time to take off her socks and shoes. So Nana had a paddle too. Maggie wanted me to sit down beside her in the water but I drew the line at that. For the next hour and a half she had a great time, splashing in the water, trying to soak Geordie, playing in the sand, burying my legs, then her own legs, then Geordie’s. Usually she is shy around strangers, but she didn’t seem to notice all the other people. It was difficult to drag her away in the end.
Then it was home for tea and bath and bed. A wonderful afternoon.
Once she and Geordie were sound I strained and bottled my latest batch of elderflower cordial, then poured myself a glass of wine and sat down. Whew!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.