Looking For Greta

The weather has turned and it was a beautiful warm and mostly sunny day today. I went back to the neighbourhood that I went to yesterday. From a comment on yesterday’s blip, I found out that there was a big mural of Greta Thunberg that was due to be painted over by a new artist. So off I went to look for it, hoping that it hadn’t been painted over yet. But as you can see, I was too late. This new piece was already well underway. I watched the artist at work for awhile which was amazing to see - skilled with both spray paint AND a cherry-picker!

You can see a picture of the Greta mural (and others) in here. (A video too).

The wall that is being painted is part of the historic Tobacco Factory which houses a theatre, a farm shop and on Sundays, a market. There is also a restaurant with an attractive outdoor garden terrace so I stopped there for lunch ice-cream and coffee. Delicious!

There are more murals as an Extra photo. I have a feeling I’ve only seen the tip of the iceberg of Southville’s ever-evolving street art.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.