Six Sisters

It was another rainy morning but it cleared in the afternoon and I was able to go explore another neighbourhood near to my campsite. This is Southville on the south bank of the River Avon. I have to admit I went looking for these specific painted buildings after seeing them in someone else’s blip journal a couple of weeks ago. They are the recently completed ‘Six Sisters’, inspired by San Francisco’s Painted Ladies.

This neighbourhood was originally built to house the workers of the nearby tobacco factory when that was a large industry here. It suffered a lot of bombing during World War 2 and has undergone gentrification over recent years. It’s well known for the annual Upfest event where street artists come from around the world to paint walls around the neighbourhood. I wandered around for awhile and found numerous beautiful examples and realise there are many more I need to find! See first Extra photo.

Like much of Bristol, the area also has many houses painted in bright colours and some call it ‘Lower Clifton’ after the more affluent neighbourhood north of the Avon, also known for its beautifully coloured buildings. There had just been a ‘Secret Gardens’ weekend, and there were some lovely small gardens to see at the front of the many terraced houses. See second Extra photo for a few examples as well as a few colourful houses.

I’m sure I’ll be doing more exploring here in coming days!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.