An English Celebration

After a couple of days at home I was back in Bristol today - just in time to watch the Men’s final at Wimbledon. It rained almost all afternoon and I was cosy in my van, watching on my iPad and snacking on the traditional strawberries and cream, or in my case, Greek yogurt. It was a LONG match and I wondered if I would miss my 6pm dinner reservation at the pub next door. It was a great match and I knew I didn’t want to pull myself away! But the match finished in 4 sets (well done, Djokovic!), so off I went to eat!

I was at the same spot last week but today’s weather meant no one was sitting outside! What a difference from the sunny weather last Sunday evening when I had enjoyed an outdoor table.

I’ve only recently become interested in football and to support England’s team, Fish & Chips it had to be for my dinner! The meal was delicious, accompanied by an English Pale Ale brewed specifically to celebrate the Euros football championship.

Sadly my traditional meal wasn’t enough to help the English team to win. It was a long 3 hours, with England eventually losing to Italy in penalties. But what an achievement to reach the finals for the first time in 55 years. My favourite scene of the evening was seeing young Prince George going nuts in the stadium as he and his mum and dad celebrated that early goal for England!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.